Sikandar Bagh is a garden, but it also has a villa inside it. It was built by the last Nawab of Awadh, Wajid Ali Shah, in 1800 as his summer palace. The Bagh spread across about 4.5 acres.
Some people say that it was named after Alexander the great, while some say that it was named after Nawab's favorite wife, Sikandar Mahal begum. There is a mosque inside the Bagh, which is enclosed by giant walls and three lofty gateways on three sides.
But now, there is only one structure as the others got destroyed during the Indian Revolt of 1857.
The gateway is the center of attraction of Sikandar Bagh, and it is one of the most beautiful structures of Lucknow.
It shows various architectural styles including, Indian, Persian, European, and Chinese. The interiors are embellished with beautiful frescoes, which are very similar to the chikan embroidery.
In the past time, Sikandar Bagh was a cultural center, and it hosted plays, dance, music, and poetic competitions throughout the year. And Nawab Wajid Ali Shah also built a pavilion in the middle of the garden where he spends his leisure time watching Raslilas, kathak dance, and hearing music and mushairas.
However, during the first war of Indian independence in 1857, Bagh transformed into a stronghold to fight against the British Army.
You can also see that inside the park's complex, there is a statue named "Unknown Heroin," and the entire monument has been protected, by the Archaeological Survey of India and has national importance.
It is also a part of the National Botanical Research Institute.